Family of Founders

Our appreciation is extended to the donors whose contributions in the early years helped the Community Foundation achieve its initial goal of $5 million. All donors who contributed with a gift of $5,000 or more are recognized permanently as our Family of Founders. Persons whose names appear in bold type were also members of, or advisors to, the Founding Board of Governors.

Founding Patrons ($100,000 or more)


Evelyn and Herbert Balls

The Belvedere Memorial

Agnes Benidickson

Brian Bockstael

Sybil Anne Brake

CarletonUniversityStudents’ Charity Ball

John E. (Ian) Danby

Paul and Adelle Deacon

John and Jean Doherty

Morleen and Peter Doherty

Donna and Gary DuBreuil

Alexander “Mac” Ervin

O.J. Firestone

Elaine Forbes

Shirley E. Greenberg

Kenneth Guarisco

Jane and Jim Hamilton

Irwin Haskett

Joan and Gordon Henderson

Margaret E. Hill

Wilhelmina Kellam

Bernard and Rose-Marie Langill

Peter Laverdière

Dr. Lorne E. MacLachlan

Donald and Joy Maclaren

Michener Awards Foundation

Minto Foundation Inc.

Michael J. Nichol

Mary Rose O’Keefe

OttawaAssociation for the Blind

Ottawa Citizen

Otto Scheffer

John M. Scott

SOS – Children’s Villages Canada

Betty and Ralph A. Sparham

Sally Swenson

Edwin and Dorothy Swimmings

Maximilian and Fleurette Ullyett

United Way of Ottawa-Carleton


Founding Benefactors ($25,000 to $100,000)


Ernest and Mary Assaly

Cynthia Baxter

John C. Burrows

Canada Post Corporation

City ofOttawaCharitable Foundation

Sylvain Cloutier Memorial

Iris Craig

Ann F. Crain

Marc Denhez

Andrew Doyle

James Robin Findlay

E. Richard Fisher

Fund for a New Generation

Margaret and Alastair Gamble

Harriet and Walter M. Guance

E. Suzanne Halpenny

Mary Vincent Hill Memorial

Bernice Keenleyside

John L. Kelly

William T. Kennedy

Gile E. LaBine

Allan H. Le Neveu

Gordon J. McCay

James A. Millar

Jean Mooney

Mariette Nadon

Mary and Wesley Nicol

Peter Ool


OttawaHandicapped Association

Bernard Ouellet

Charles-Eugène Ouellet

Jean C. Paradis

Carrol Simpson

Frederick Sirotek

Muriel and Harold Taggart

Women’s Business Network


Founding Donors ($5,000 to $25,000)

Patricia Addelman

Bert Beaulieu

Senator W. M. Benidickson

Beth Bertram

V. H. Beutenmiller

John J. Bull

Hazel and Edwin R.G. Burgess

Elinore and Vince Calzonetti

Douglas and Karen Cameron

Neta F. Clarke

Canada Trust Co.

Canada-U.S. Fulbright Program

Suzanne Cornforth

Coughlin & Associates Limited

John Crow

James and Norma Davies

Rob Dempster

Catherine Di Ianni

Helen and Arnold Earl

Elaine Garfinkel

Greenhaven Foundation

Jerry Grey

William Grossman

Marguerite (Grete) Hale

Jacquelin Holzman

Jean Huckabone

Barbara Ingram

IODE – Lord Dundonald Chapter

KEY Radio LimitedOttawa

Valerie Knowles

Donald and Dolores Langill

David and Joyce Loeb

Mary Louise Lynch

Macdonald Club

Mary E. Macdonald, CM

Meiz M. Majdoub

Leanora D. McCarney

Dr. Rebecca McDermott

Barbara and Glenn McInnes

Peter Middleton and Wanda Hoe

Mervin Mirsky

Gerard Myers

George Nelms

John H. Nelms

Raymond J. Ostiguy

Ottawa PC Users Group

OttawaPolice Services Board


Roberta Pollock

G. Edward Reed

Rotary Club ofOttawa

Muriel Scott

Dave Smith

Doris M. Smith

Ruth and Hyman Soloway


Bill Thornton

Jane Thornton

John Alban Trainor

Dr. F. R. Wake

R. Howard Webster Foundation

West EndAchievers

John and Shirley Westeinde

Margaret P. Wetzel

George and Delphin White